SALE LAST ONE!! Interfaith Banner


REDUCED from £35 to £20 to clear

Interfaith Universal Worship Banner

5 feet x 2.5 feet tall, Rayon Batik

18 spiritual traditions symbolised on one long banner, with purple background, gold trim

Includes (top row from left to right)

Great Goddess- From the ancient Middle Eastern tradition, this Goddess image and many like it were the earliest known religious symbols and represent the fertile Mother from which life springs.

African- The Akua'ba is a Goddess symbol used for good luck in many parts of Africa, and is especially worn by women and children as a charm to lend protection, fertility and good fortune. It is primarily from the Ashanti tribe in Nigeria.

Mayan- The Hunab Ku symbol represents the center of the Galaxy. The complex and highly developed Mayan system of astrology is based on our relationship with this center at our birth. The Mayan tradition is an ancient Native path from Central America.

Native American- Medicine Wheel The four directions of the east, south, west and north are honoured in the wheel of life, hung with sacred eagle feathers. These primal directions represent the stages of energy cycles such as the cycles of time: spring, summer, fall, winter, and human life as in birth, youth, maturity, and old age.

Hindu- The OM is the sound of the universal vibration, the primal source from which all creation manifests. It is the mantra mantrika, or "Mother of all sounds" the first of all creative spells spoken by the Goddess, chanted to attune oneself to the Divine. The original meaning was "womb".

Buddhist Prayer Wheel The Buddha taught the eightfold path to enlightenment, represented here by a prayer wheel. The eight paths are right conduct, right contemplation, right effort, right faith, right occupation, right resolve, right self awareness, and right speech.

Jain- Jainism contains many elements similar to Hinduism and Buddhism. The world's almost 4 million Jains are almost entirely located in India. They practice Ahimsa: non violence, and believe committing an act of violence against a human, animal, or even vegetable generates negative karma.

Taoist -Ying Yang. The interplay between primal opposites is an eternal dance, such as (light/dark, male /female, day/night, life/death) and within the heart of the light is a core of dark, and within the core of darkness lies light

Confucian- The social ethics and moral teachings of Confucius are an ethical system to which rituals at important times during one's lifetime have been added. His writings deal primarily with individual morality and ethics, and the proper exercise of political power by the rulers. The most important periods recognized in the Confucian tradition are birth, reaching maturity, marriage, and death. This Chinese motif means "joy together", chosen at random because there is no traditional symbol for Confucianism.

Bottom row (left to right)

Shinto-Shrine entrance. Shinto is an ancient Japanese religion, closely tied to nature, which recognizes the existence of various "Kami", nature deities. All the Kami are benign and serve only to sustain and protect. Shinto has no written scriptures, no body of religious law, and only a very loosely organized priesthood. Ancestors are deeply revered and worshipped. All human life and human nature is sacred. Tradition and the family are very important.

Wiccan -Pentacle. Symbolic of life and health in ancient times, the pentacle has been used as a strong protective charm. The five pointed star is used in many traditions, and in Wicca, a shamanic nature religion from Europe, it shows an image of how energy flows through stages of life, and corresponds to the five points of the sacred human body.

Zoroastrian- Flame. The sacred fire burns on an altar, representing the light which gives all life. Following the prophet Zoroaster, this tradition emphasizes purity and Divine light.

Jewish- Star of David. The traditional interweaving of the upward pointing and downward pointing triangles, representing the unity of earthly and heavenly energies. It represents the union of God and the Shekina, the male and female energies in harmony.

Christian- Cross. The traditional cross reminds us not only of Jesus the Christ's death, but of the older origins of this symbol as an intersection of two energy flows, one flowing between earth and heaven, and the other spreading out from side to side, representing the 4 directions.

Sufi -Winged Heart. The awakened heart, which contains the star of perfected light and the receptiveness of the moon, becomes capable of soaring to the heights of Spirit. Sufism is a mystical path related to Islam.

Islamic- Moon and Star. The star of perfected light, which can be seen as the perfected human, and the receptiveness of the moon which allows the light of the Divine to fill it. Islam is a tradition from the Middle East, emphasizing devotion and community.

Sikh- The circle of unity contains the double edged sword representing the power of truth, and is surrounded by two curved daggers, representing the act of willingness to defend the faith.

Baha'i- 9 pointed star. The Baha'i religion is one of the newest of the religions of the prophets, and encourages world peace by teaching tolerance and honoring all paths to God. Their symbol is a nine pointed star.

Add to Cart:

This product was added to our catalog on Monday 30 March, 2015.

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2018 Moontimes. Powered by Zen Cart